Fate — Is It Real?

This video is very hard to explain, as it includes so much time warping and such, but it’s not the main point… the main point is that your destiny is in your own hands!

des·ti·ny [des-tuh-nee]

(noun)

something that is to happen or has happened to a particular person or thing; lot of fortune.

Personally, I don’t believe in destiny because “It is not in the stars to hold our destiny but in ourselves” (William Shakespeare). Everyone, and I mean EVERYONE is in this world for a reason.  Everyone has potential to become something awesome, but it’s not planned. People must work and put in effort in order to achieve something. You don’t just “earn” money by sitting and doing nothing. You earn it by working for it. Life isn’t determined by zodiacs (which, I must admit, I get sucked into reading all the time) or a fortune teller, it’s determined by persistence and personal achievement. Don’t just give up hope when the crazy lady with the crystal ball says you’re going to die in 30 days, show her up instead! Go live your life like it is going to end, even though I assure you, she just made that up and it’s not true!

“Unlike Oedipus, I can change my fate” states Isabel from rosedwater (http://rosedwater.wordpress.com/2013/10/29/106/). This statement is 100% true. Anyone and EVERYONE can change their fate. There is, in fact, no such thing as fate. Yes, it was predicted that Oedipus was to kill his father and marry his mother, but he’s just a myth, correct? Like I said before, EVERYONE must work and put in effort in order to earn something. The real world isn’t friendly and you’ll sometimes have to be a little aggressive to get what you want.

After all, “does the walker choose the path, or the path the walker?” -Garth Nix, Sabriel

-Dorothy

4 thoughts on “Fate — Is It Real?

  1. This post kind of reminds me of Brave. “If you could change your fate, would you?” I love the idea of one controlling one’s destiny. It gives me hope when I feel like there is no where to turn. I really like all the quotes you used. Overall, a fantastic post. Great job!

    • I like how you noticed that! Brave is such a good movie. I love how Merida actually does something rather than sitting around waiting for her prince to come and sweep her off her feet. She actually takes a lead of her life. Thanks for the comment!

  2. I agree with you 100%. Our destiny is in our hands. Everything is in our grasp. So the real question is do we try with all might to get to where we want and what we want out of life….or do we simply stay idle and rely on eyeball factors? I highly believe in the former. As a young child fresh from a foreign country who just artived in the US, there were many constraints that could’ve held me back in life but I turned them into motivational factors instead. Thanks for that reminder in your very well written blog, Dorothy!

Leave a Reply

